Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
136 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
2005 vulcan 1500 Classic FI with 14,000 miles on it.

starts up great when its cold and runs fine but if I stop for a few minutes it won't start or even try to start. After it sets for 15 minutes or so it will start up (takes a more cranks but it will start) and run fine.

NO FI light blinking to indicate ECM error codes. Checked the plugs and they are like new.

Does anyone know of a known problem with this year and model that I should look for first?

·
Registered
67 Posts
Hey OstBob! I have the same bike with approx the same mileage :)

So when you say
it won't start or even try to start
Does that mean she doesn't turn over or she turns over and doesn't fire?

·
Registered
67 Posts
Ok. I'm no mechanic but the first things to check would be fire and fuel.

So pull a plug and ground it on the cylinder. Turn the engine over to see if you have spark?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Won't start after warm?

Ostbob and the whole world out there, I have a VN1500 and had the same problem. My bike was off the road for 14 months, as nobody could help me. I decided to study the problem and solved it myself. Problem was the cdi unit. In South African rands it cost 4,680.00 to replace, IF you can find one new or used. Well, I got my Baby going for 240 ZA rands.
I used two TP600 ignition modules as used by Ford. (Magnetic-type) Why two? One for each cylinder and the bike has two magnetic pick-ups to activate the coils. If you are interested in this modification, you may derop me an e-mail for details.
My bike is more powerfull and starts like you won't believe, hot or cold.
My e-mail is [email protected]
2005 vulcan 1500 Classic FI with 14,000 miles on it.

starts up great when its cold and runs fine but if I stop for a few minutes it won't start or even try to start. After it sets for 15 minutes or so it will start up (takes a more cranks but it will start) and run fine.