Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Everyone,
The bike will push start and run just fine.
My bike won't start by engaging the starter motor.
The starter spins like crazy, high pitch 'zing', 'whir' or whatever sound you like to use.
The starter was starting the bike but intermittently. Sometimes it would spin other times it would spin then engage firing-up the bike.
I'm suspecting the starter but I'm no bike mechanic but I'll become one when the starter runs $335 for something you can put in your back pocket.
Has anyone got the spin-whir-no-start.
Has anyone taken the starter off, tear it down, clean it and reassemble with positive results?

Thanks,
JoeCubicle in Omaha NE

·
Registered
7,620 Posts
I've never heard of this issue on a bike, but I did have this issue on a pickup truck once. Basically, on the truck there's a spring-loaded clutch of sorts that engages the starter, and once the the starter is turned off (start button released) it disengages the starter from the engine (so it's not just spinning like crazy attached to the engine!)

The fix was replacing the starter. At least with that one, you couldn't replace the clutch. HOWEVER, on the 900 there is a part # 13194-0009 that is the starter clutch.

I certainly can't say for sure that's the issue, you'll have to pull the starter and maybe find someone (maybe they'll chime in) who will know how to determine for sure that the clutch is bad. But, if I had to guess, if the starter is spinning but not engaging that would be the starter clutch right?

That's a $100 part. Not cheap, but better than just shy of $400 isn't it!

·
Registered
3,219 Posts