Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings fellow Vulcanites!

At the beginning of this summer, i purchased my first motorcycle, a Kawi Vulcan 900 Custom. I enjoy the bike and have added several thousand miles on it already. However, since I am new to motorcycling, I have several questions/ concerns regarding winter storage. I'm planning on keeping my bike covered in my driveway (I don't have a garage). I live in upstate New York and over here, we can get some pretty cold winters/ snow. I was thinking of purchasing the Battery Tender Plus and leaving it connected to the bike for a few months. I doubt that I will be doing much winter riding.
Now I ask...

Is a battery tender an absolute necessity for cold weather outdoor storage?

and if so...

Will Snow/ Cold exposure damage the Battery Tended Plus if it is plugged into an outdoor power outlet and exposed to the winter elements?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks! :)

·
Registered
941 Posts
If you pull the battery then you can keep it plugged into the Tender inside.

If the Tender was covered so the elements wouldn't affect it then it should be okay. But the above would be better.

Make sure your cover is good and tight. Getting moisture under there and having it sit like that all winter can't be good. You can't get it stored somewhere? Most dealers new or used have winter storage services. I know the ones here are like $250-350, depending on what you have them do.

Personally if I didn't have a garage and a brand new bike, and lived in cold winter climate like ours where getting to safely ride during the winter is rare. I would find a way to keep her inside. Either a buddies place or pay the money. Even a storage facility would be better.

·
Registered
719 Posts