Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

· Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first year storing my 900 Classic for the winter. There are many write-ups/articles on this subject. None are exactly clear on lift/stands to keep my bike off the cold, unheated, concrete floor of my garage.

What is the best choice to keep my wheels off the ground & load off the suspension?

Please do not jump my post to tell me you get to ride all year long, or you don't store your bike. Responses like that do not help those of us that need these answers. Thank you,

· Registered
165 Posts
I have had 3 bikes go through the winter stored in a garage on concrete. I just make sure to rotate the wheels twice a month with no ill effects. Also it helps to keep them fully inflated. Now the 900 stays outdoor in the winter under the Cycleshell. If I can't get it out then I just move the bike forwards and backwards a couple times of the month.

Don't forget the battery tender and sta-bil in a full tank. I have a waterproof one for storing in the cycleshell.

· Registered
66 Posts
Go here for instructions to make $20 Bike lift. I made one and use it all of the time for storage as well general maint. I made mine out 2x8 glued and screwed and added 1X4 cap on the narrow edge then just lever bike up . The lift is simple and very solid. Elevate front tire slightly and block and you have both tires off ground.

http://www.nightrider.com/biketech/bikelift.htm

· Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
That homemade lift looks cool. Wish I would have seen it before I ordered a Pepsx stand.

So, I just spent $140 on a Pepsx stand and now I'm researching a motorcycle jack to use to get my 900 on to the stand.

Any suggestions on a quality motorcycle jack? According to online reviews most jacks are crap, especially Craftsman.

· Registered
108 Posts