Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just recently bought a 2001 Vulcan Classic that, I've only been on the highway just a couple times. It seems as if I'm in fifth gear by the time I reach 60-65 but any more than that, it just seems like I'm over revving it. Kinda like there should have been another gear...
Is this normal, am I okay riding at 70 without worrying something is going to break? I want to ride it on a couple hundred mile trip but I just don't know if I would be okay.
I'm new to the Bike ownership and new to riding, so I was just wanting others who own this type bike, their input. Thanks.

·
Registered
3,897 Posts
These bikes will run all day long at an indicated 80-85, I've done it. With stock sprockets, it'll hit the rev limiter in 3rd at about 85-90 mph. I had a 17 front 39 rear and once had an indicated 107mph and it was still climbing when I started catching up to traffic. I heard the rev limiter kicks in at 8750rpm. These motors do rev a lot and they like being revved, but they'll also putt around town in 4th at 30-35 with no problem. The 18 front 40 rear sprockets are a popular upgrade.

·
Registered
53 Posts
I thought the same thing when I bought my vn800 b. Revs way too high o the freeway with the stock 17f/42r sprockets. I just did a 19t front sprocket for under $30 if I recall correctly. Best thing I've done to. adding a 19t front is almost Identical to doing an 18f/40r but its cheaper and easier. I have a post regarding the sprocket brand/part number in the 800 section if you're interested. Used the stock length chain too. I highly recommend it.

·
Registered
70 Posts