Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Registered
2,098 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I just talked to a former boss. He has been with our company for 40 years and just turned 60. I was asking him about retirement and he said... "what would I do"?

If I have an opportunity for early retirement, and see that I could make it financially, I believe I would jump all over it. I don't see that happening!

I seem to think that I would at least like to try and see if I could make use of my own time rather than someone elses.

So, I have 2 questions if you guys would be willing.

What type of work do you do, how far from retirement?
and
If you are retired or semi-retired, what are you doing with your time?

·
Registered
2,098 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I work as a document management supervisor for a large insurance company.

I can retire 2023. That's 11 years.... :cool:

Thankful for my job!

·
Premium Member
124 Posts
I retired 2 years ago. I'm 47 and volunteer a lot of time at my daughters school. I also help the neighbors out some and work in my shop here at home.

I worked for Coca-Cola for 27 years and also spent time in the reserves. I had been a mechanic/welder for Coke, and a medic, cross trained as mechanic in the reserves.

·
Registered
4,477 Posts
Took an early retirement at 63, buy out I couldn't turn down. Now, I spend my time at the Sheriffs Office (SO), as an Aux. Deputy (60 to 80 some hours monthly). Last Oct I became a Certified Glock Armorer and this past Feb. I became an IL certified Police Firearms Instructor. Both courses financially supported by the SO. I really enjoy my days now!

·
Registered
2,098 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)