Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
782 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It has just been come my attention that the max recommended added wattage for the VN900 is only 70 watts. I am currently in process of replacing my stator. I have no real proof that overloading the electrical system caused my stator to fail, but I did have a pretty good load going. I had 50w per bulb in Wally World lights and also the Napa high wattage headlight which is about 20w more than standard. All I am saying is that anyone with the Wally World lights or who wants to install them, may want to consider dropping back to 20w or 35w bulbs.

PS- I am not an electrical engineer, so take this as hearsay only.

·
Premium Member
3,670 Posts
It has just been come my attention that the max recommended added wattage for the VN900 is only 70 watts. I am currently in process of replacing my stator. I have no real proof that overloading the electrical system caused my stator to fail, but I did have a pretty good load going. I had 50w per bulb in Wally World lights and also the Napa high wattage headlight which is about 20w more than standard. All I am saying is that anyone with the Wally World lights or who wants to install them, may want to consider dropping back to 20w or 35w bulbs.

Sounds about right. ... my cobra light bar sports 25 watt bulbs.

·
Registered
149 Posts
I'm not sure where the Wally World Lights enter in but I'm running a 100 Watt bulb in my headlight upgraded from a 60 Watt. At 12 volts the 60 Watt will pull 5 Amps and the 100 Watt will pull 8.33 Amps. The headlight fuse is spec'd at 10 Amps. It would be extremely doubtful that the system would even notice the additional 3.33 Amp load that a 100 Watt draws over a 60 Watt. Now if your light set-up adds additional lights, that might be a problem. Here's the deal P (watts) = Volts (12) * Amps or, to put it another way, P/V = A. So, divide your wattage rating by 12 (volts) to calculate you Amperage draw.

·