Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 75 Posts

·
Registered
322 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Yeah, I know...but I'm an engineer

Thanks to the admittedly small alternator there are only a 25W of accessories you can add to the Vulcan S (per the manual)...so I did the "power budget" you see below. Remember, exceeding the 25W limit means the alternator might not be able to charge the battery adequately.

OEM accessories:
OEM fog lights (LED) 16W (1.3A)
OEM GPI 2.6W (220mA)
Subtotal for OEM accessories = 18.6W...only leaves 6.4W of overhead for the OEM power socket.

LIGHTING LOAD (OEM):
City light in headlight bucket is 5W
License plate light is 5W
Turn signals (4) are 10W each
Headlight is 55/60W H4 Halogen
Total lighting load is (w/hi beam on) = 110W

So if you can't MAKE more power, SAVE some power:
Convert the city light, all turn sigs and lic plate light to LED, this means load is now (3.4W x 4)+(1W x 2)= 15.6W; a reduction of 34.4W.
Convert headlight from 55/60W H4 halogen to LED H4 (i.e Cyclops)20/40W, net reduction of 20W on High beam.

This reduces total lighting load for OEM lights from 110W to 55.6W on hi beam, 105W to 35.6W on low beam...a total reduction of 54.4W w/high beam (use the highest load).

NOW total accessory load allowed over OEM stock config (no accessories installed) is the 54.4W you saved by the conversion, plus the 25W normally allowed in the manual.

79.4W allowed minus 20W (aftermarket LED driving lights) = 59.4W left.
59.4W minus 2.6W (aftermarket GPI) = 56.8W left.
You could then add about a 4.75A additional load - but note the accessory circuit has a 5A fuse and I'm already using about 1.8A of that fuse rating to power driving lights and a GPI.