Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, I hope one of ya'll could help me out with my bike. I'm new at this, so please forgive any ignorance on my end. Ok, here is my problem:

- I changed my oil last weekend. Rode the bike with no problems that day for 15-20 miles.
- I had a hunch that I put too much oil in the tank when I got home that day (I forgot to check the oil meter after I did the oil change) so I checked the oil meter and sure enough it was filled to the top. I don't think I seriously overfilled the tank, but I'm a perfectionist, so I want it fixed.
- I got around to fixing this today. After a couple of unsuccessful attempts to siphon the oil out of the tank, I put the oil pan under the bike and went about the dirty way of doing this by unscrewing the oil drain plug.
- After unscrewing the plug, a significant amount of oil was released into the pan b/c I had a heck of a time screwing in the plug to stop the drainage. My rough guess - which could be completely wrong - was that I lost a liter of oil. Again, I started from likely a slightly overfilled tank.
-I decided to then try to start the engine to warm up the oil and see where the level was. After I pressed the ignition button, the bike tried to turnover, but then immediately started making a horrible buzzing sound.
- I thought that this was due to a lack of oil in the bike, so I added about a quarter of a liter. Tried to start the bike again, and it went straight to the buzzing sound. Added a little more oil, and again - buzz city.
- The panel lights are on when the key is turned, so I don't think it is a battery problem. Again, this all started after I attempted to adjust the oil.

This is certainly a perplexing problem. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
1,281 Posts
Check for loose/Dirty battery connections.....See the sticky at top of page.....These bikes are nutritious for battery connections.

·
Registered