Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 78 Posts

·
Registered
1,291 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
VN800 Valve adjust notes - I just did 'em, but with a few differences...

Now I'm no expert - but if this convinces, helps, shames, or otherwise behooves someone else into adjusting their VN800 valves before brim-fire and destruction happens, then I reckon I've done something positive for the day (above and beyond saving three chicken lives with my loud pipes).

I downloaded a .pdf file from someone or somewhere about adjusting the valves. In it was a compilation of what seemed to be the Kawasaki instructions and about three other guys' input into doing them. This .pdf was VERY helpful, the pictures great (even if out of order and leading to a post I made asking about what I was seeing). Thank you to whomever wrote in and/or compiled that .pdf

I'm thinking of adding to the .pdf for communication's sake, but maybe I won't be that bold as this is the first time I've done valves on a VN800... nonetheless:

All goes well with the forward valve cover and head - I don't think it is worth talking about.

As for the rear valve cover, for the pdf - or just in general - I'd like to note that:
1.) While the choke knob area needed to be d/c'ed, and the carb-end of it rotated up, as well as the vent tube removed from the top-rear of the carb, I did not need to loosen the carb to get the rear valve cover off.
2.) the limiting factor seemed to be the main wiring harness and various (and/or every) vent lines that were routed around there - especially any and all lines/wires on the right-side of the frame. I cut the zip-tie (easily replaced later) and had to maneuver it all around as best as possible to gain upward-clearance.