Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an opportunity to pick up a used 2009 1700. Right now I'm riding a 2012 900 classic and I really like it but I would love just a little more torque and a 6th gear. I find the 900 very easy to maneuver but I'm not a big guy (155 lb) and I just started riding last spring and the 1700 is 100+ lbs heavier of a bike.

I could go for a victory or a harley I guess since those are lighter bikes although more expensive. But I like the ergonomics on the vulcans and the availability of aftermarket parts (vs the victory).

What's the general consensus on the 1700s here? I see some complaints so I wanted to get the advice from the people.

·
Registered
364 Posts
I have an opportunity to pick up a used 2009 1700. Right now I'm riding a 2012 900 classic and I really like it but I would love just a little more torque and a 6th gear. I find the 900 very easy to maneuver but I'm not a big guy (155 lb) and I just started riding last spring and the 1700 is 100+ lbs heavier of a bike.

I could go for a victory or a harley I guess since those are lighter bikes although more expensive. But I like the ergonomics on the vulcans and the availability of aftermarket parts (vs the victory).

What's the general consensus on the 1700s here? I see some complaints so I wanted to get the advice from the people.
Meatwad,

With a 2009 make sure to see the sticky notices at the top of this forum, specifically regarding the recall notice on the ECU and the free dealer upgrade to Heat Shields for the exhaust.

Find out if the ECU was replaced under the recall and make sure the dealer installed the FREE heat shield kit. If not, both are available for free.

Also, the best improvement I made was the RACNRAY Throttle mod (search on this forum for details). It is the best value for the money and eliminates the throttle lag on the stock bikes.

·
Registered
375 Posts
Hi Meatwad