Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Premium Member
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I started riding about a year or so ago. Bought all the gear in textile. On the plus side, my textile gear is both protective and water proof. That being said, I feel a bit "outside" the culture by not wearing leather.

I think I know what most of you would say, just hard for me to invest in a second set of riding gear.

Thoughts? :confused:

·
Registered
655 Posts
If you wanna get leather, get leather. I prefer textile (actually a pretty cheap one) for 4 years or so. Love the zipper vents for warm, liner for cold, armor for just in case.

Just reread my post. Didn't mean it to sound snotty - just meant, if you want leather, get leather :)

·
Registered
543 Posts
I got denim Draggin' Jeans with Kevlar lining. Also got the hip and knee inserts but haven't used them. Got some heavy suspenders from Tractor Supply to hold the Jeans up. Looking forward to denim Draggin' jacket next month.

·
Premium Member
1,349 Posts
Thinking leather is more of a harley tradition taken on by other riders, now that harley parts are being made in China, I'd say give it a little while longer, textiles will become more popular. LOL

·
Registered
7,620 Posts
I much prefer textile myself. Leather lacks armor (usually) where textile usually has it. And a good, modern, textile setup offers nearly the same protection.

Plus, you'll be glad you've got that textile when the temps hit the triple digits!

But, if you want leather get it! Certainly nothing wrong with it. I got a nice leather jacket at a bike show for $30 used. You can find deals! I don't ever ride with that jacket I just use it for a winter coat, but, point being, it can be found!

·
Registered
3,029 Posts