Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Long story short, I went off about a 4" step and I think thats when my tail lights stopped working. I checked the fuse and its not blown, I put in a new and switched with a known working one. My turn signals work as do my brake lights. I am hoping there is a harness with a plug of some sort that just came lose.

If not, I do have the extended kawasaki warranty which was supposed to cover electrical issues.

Any ideas ? I am new to working on new bikes, the last one I worked on was (is) a 1980 750 LTD. Not well versed on all the terminology but I am not a complete noob when it comes to getting me hands dirty.

·
Registered
308 Posts
the plugs are under the seat for all the back lights.

two lights are permanently on in the back, the license plate light and the tail light in the same enclosure as the brake light.
the bulb used there has two filaments 5Watts/20W, the 5W one may be out.
it takes 1157 bulbs.

2397 and 2357 bulbs fit and are brighter (500lumens vs 400) for the brake filament.
this means the brake filaments last 400hrs vs 1200hr. the low filament is similar w/ 5000hrs for all 3.

hope this helps

·
Premium Member
571 Posts
Hello, sir: