Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
434 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since Spring is here and in a few weeks it will be Summer, at least in Texas, has anybody found a jacket they like in summer time down here in the south?

·
Registered
46 Posts
I got a TourMaster Mesh jacket last year and I love it! I know NY is not Texas, but the mesh will keep you cool. It also has a wind/water proof liner as well as another liner for wormth for those chilly nights. Just my 2 cents.

·
Registered
201 Posts
I live in Southeast Texas and I use an X-Element Mesh Jacket. It is feels like a T shirt with armour at speed and is barely noticable when stopped at a light.

I would think any real mesh jacket should do just fine down here.

·
Registered
659 Posts
"I would think any real mesh jacket should do just fine down here."

+1

I'm not "down there" but I picked up a Fieldsheer mesh jacket from motorcycle superstore a while back for cheap and it does great and is armoured in the back, shoulders and elbows.

·
Premium Member
443 Posts
I have a Joe Rocket mesh jacket with a removable rain liner and removeable padding. I really like it, and I usually wear it even in the summer and it's not bad, but any jacket inhibits air flow and when it's 100+ outside they're not comfortable. However, they're a lot more comfortable than road rash.

·
Registered
136 Posts
I'll chime in and agree that any mesh jacket from a reputable gear company should work for you, protection and comfort wise.

I have a Vega mesh jacket with CE armor a zip in cool weather liner and a rain jacket that goes over and is stored in a pocket built in the back of the jacket. As long as you are moving at some speed it is comfortably cool. I really put it to the test last summer when I rode on several days that were in the 110 degree range here in PA (So you can add in the humidity!).

·
Registered
7,620 Posts