Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I posted this in the welcome area with no response, must have been the wrong topic.

I am looking for my 1st bike. I really like the Vulcan 900 line, and have signed up to this forum to learn all I can.

I have co-workers pushing me towards Sportsters and yamahas, but I lean towards the Vulcans and some Hondas. Any suggestions from this forum would be great. I have been riding for a several years just never owned my own bike. I am 6'1" about 215 lbs and the bikes on my short list are as follows (looking at used due to budget).

Kawasaki Vulcan 900
maybe a
Honda Sabre 1100

Any suggestions as to why or why not, or any other bikes will be appreciated. I am planning on riding two up with my wife once I get used to the bike if that makes a difference.

The site looks great and I look forward to your comments.

Thank you.

Mike

·
Banned
102 Posts
The size of the Vulcan was a concern for me when I was looking - I'm 6-4 215lb. I was worried that my legs would get tired. Turns out it's not a problem at all.

WRT the Sabre.... In my opinion it's too clean. It just looks.... like a Honda. Everything is in the right place, it's clean, it's pretty, it's just not... cool. :cool: It's like the V-6 Mustang - it looks OK but there's nothing else there to make it bad azz. Just my opinion.

I can't speak to Star, but if you're looking at a Harley make sure you're comparing apples to apples - same year, similar size + features, etc. For example when I bought my bike I paid $5500 for it used with 4300 miles on it. I looked at a used Road King at my local HD dealership with 108,000 miles and they wanted $9400 for it. :eek:

Of course I'm biased, but I don't think you can beat the Vulcan for the price.

·
Registered
26 Posts
I have a 900LT. My 3 complaints are....

Stiff clutch lever.... If you have strong hands with long fingers you will be fine.