Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello,
I noticed something that maybe an issue or not, I am new to VN900 although not to Vulcans in general.
Around 4k rpm and only when the engine is in gear a vibration develops that produces a slight ringing (?) noise coming from under the seat or the engine I believe, I cannot pinpoint it due to the fact that it only happens when I am riding, if give it gas stationary in neutral it does not occur and it stops when I pull the clutch to change gear when cruising.
I will check the belt tension but I would appreciate any ideas on where else to look at.

Thanks!

·
Registered
65 Posts
i had a rattling sound and after sending it in with a warranty check up it was something todo with the headlight, the garage put some tape or something in there and fixed it right up

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
i had a rattling sound and after sending it in with a warranty check up it was something todo with the headlight, the garage put some tape or something in there and fixed it right up
I am afraid it is not that simple as the noise appears only at a certain high RPM range.

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Mine does the same thing. I still don't know if it normal or not.
I guess it's nothing serious as these decade old bikes would have suffered engine failure if it were :grin2:
I do most of the maintenance myself, including valve adjustment, so I have to find it myself or with the help of this community as I do not trust any dealer or shop to lay hands on this beauty!

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
As I was checking stuff I noticed the rear shock upper nut was loose to the point of falling off the bolt 😨
I torqued it to 44 lb/ft and hope all is well!
Previous owner had lowering kit installed and maybe the mechanic forgot to tighen the bolt?
Who knows, I will keep an eye on it.

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #8