Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
337 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I think my shoulders are hurting since I have been riding my VN900 for the last 2 months.

They feel strained.

Anyone else expereinced this pain from riding heavy bikes (like the VN900)?

(I understand the VN900 is a light one compared to higher CC Cruisers too.)

If so, what remedies were taken?

Romper

·
Registered
415 Posts
Depending on your height, i have known some who are on the shorter side say they needed to put on risers to feel more comfortable and not be reaching so far, i'm 6'2" and the fit seems just right for me, i can even sit back in my seat some.....ride on.....

·
Registered
60 Posts
I have some of the same issues with my shoulders. Adding pull back risers and changing the angle of the bars has helped...but not totally resolved the problem.

·
Premium Member
114 Posts
I agree. you can buy some $20 risers off ebay and play with the height of the bars which I found makes a big difference.
Now my forearms are level as I ride and I feel no strain at all.

·
Registered
698 Posts
Get a back rest. Takes the wind pressure strain of your arms and back. I also added 2" risers off ebay. They were dirt cheap and easy to install.

·
Registered
337 Posts
Discussion Starter #6 (Edited)
Thanks guys.

so, the stock bars are not the best for tall riders I am thinking?

Do i need to aim for parallel forearms (to the ground)?

I am 6'2" and thinking if I still need those risers...?

What is the maximum height of bar risers that can be installed on these bikes before the function of all the cables is affected?

Will strengthening the muscles in my back, shoulders, fore arms and biceps help?

Interesting part about all of this is that I do not feel any pain or strain when I am riding, only when I am resting and off the bike....???

Romper

·
Premium Member
114 Posts