Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
427 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What is the aethetic or functional reason for the solid rear wheel rim on the 900 Custom? I love my bike, but if I had one complaint on the visuals of it, it'd be that. Doesn't really bother me to any great degree, but I am a bit puzzled why they went with it in the first place. Does it serve a function, or does it represent an aesthetic that's popular in some quarters (e.g. a design holdover from custom choppers or...?)?

·
Premium Member
3,670 Posts
It allows the use of tubless tires vs the classic spokes where we run tubes in the tires, why solid, i would imagine its the cost factor, cheaper than the aftermarket stuff.

·
Registered
295 Posts
I wondered the same thing when I got mine. I'd guess cost is a factor. There's more than a few bikes out there with solid rear wheels.

·
Registered
1,269 Posts
My 2 cents: First, the 900 C was styled after the HD deuce. I'm not a Harley expert, but every one of those machines I've seen has a solid rear wheel, so I'm thinking that Kawasaki just followed the style cues. I have to point out that I think the 900 looks a lot better than the deuce. So much more style!

That said, I much prefer the solid wheel on the back. The wheel is practically invisible once you put bags on the bike so the styling isn't a big factor for me in this case. I like cleaning it! I put the bike up on the jack, start it up, put in 1st and while the wheel's spinning away I soap up my body brush and stick it in behind the pulley on the left and behind the pipes on the right. A light spray with the hose and she's all sparkly again. Can't beat it!

Attachments

·
Premium Member
3,670 Posts