Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I am a graduate student and I use my motorcycle may be once or twice a month to go on a ride. Since it just lies around for 95% of the time, one of my friend was suggesting renting it out.

Has anyone tried such a thing? Even otherwise, what's your opinion on renting a motorcycle? Would you ever do that?

Thanks,
Sharad

·
Registered
243 Posts
I don't even let anyone ride mine, so renting would be out of the question. If you do be prepared for bad things to happen

·
Registered
104 Posts
Check on the insurance cost before you decide on this.
Your regular insurance I doubt is going to be enough or will cover this.
I agree that you may want to consider bad things for the bike.

·
Registered
1,159 Posts
It's a proven fact* that allowing someone else to use your bike, even if they pay a nominal fee for the usage, results in drastically reduced service life, cosmetic imperfections, and emotional damage to the bike's soul.

*Okay, maybe not but I still wouldn't do it.

·
Premium Member
3,670 Posts
just the legal ramifications would be a headache ....

·
Registered
684 Posts
A couple of years ago I was seeing quite a few very low mileage bikes for sale at very good prices. I thought about buying a couple just to rent them out, so I called my insurance agent to see what it would cost to make that work. WOW!!! Needless to say I didn't buy any extra bikes.....

·
Registered
7,620 Posts
There are a few websites that let you rent your vehicle out to people traveling but.. I dunno, I can't imagine the legal ramifications. Imagine if someone wrecked your bike, was injured, and decided that the wreck was your fault due to the way you maintained the bike?

·
Registered
227 Posts
Renting

That's dangerously close to being the equivalent of prostituting out your girlfriend. To me, the idea is out of the question.
+1111