Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I ordered EMGO Turn out slip on pipes for my 99 Vulcan 500 and I know I'm going to need to rejet. The bike already backfires when choke isn't on during deceleration. Now I'm no mechanical genius, but I can do a lot of stuff and this seems pretty easy to do in terms of technicality but the precision work has me worrying a bit.

I've found this, http://www.jetsrus.com/FAQs/FAQ_rejetting_101_how_to_rejet.htm , which basically says adjust the idle and then the pilot screw if the idle doesn't work. That seems easy to me, almost too easy.

There are also some questions I have with this, can I rejet it with the carb still on the bike or does it need to come off every time to make adjustments if its not right the first time?

Can anyone tell me if that go by is good or if anyone has any different steps on how to do it, it would be much appreciated. I'm not really happy about the $300 I got quoted and I'd rather just do it myself to learn for future bikes I get

Thanks,
Gunnar

·
Premium Member
3,146 Posts
Backfiring, or popping? A backfire is like a gunshot or a firecracker going off. A popping is more of a burbling sound in the pipes.

You shouldn't need to rejet if all you're replacing is mufflers. The bike pops on deceleration because when you close the throttle, you're making it lean, as it's still sucking air.

There are two carbs on the 500, are there not? If it's a 99, there is a good chance they my need to be stripped and cleaned anyway, and the rubber bits inspected. Re-syncing them can be a bear. If you do rejet, you may need to get a longer needle too, depending on the jet size.
here's some useful info

http://www.vulcanforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2413

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #3