Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The only thing that I need to complete what is already a very tidy VN900 is the rear wheel spokes!
Nightmare to get to:crying2:,, Unless you remove I guess, Anybody no of some genuine products and methods of cleaning what is going to be a long but final job?:wink2:

Thanks for any help guy's

·
Registered
308 Posts
I never cleaned the spokes on my 900 other than hit them with spray from a hose to knock loose dirt off. They are cadmium coated and will never appear bright and shiny. Be careful not to rub that coating off or they'll rust.

·
Registered
409 Posts
This is a subject near and dear to my heart, and I've tried lots of stuff. I actually find the rotor side of the front harder to clean than the rear. Ive been using Simple Green Pro HD for about two years now and it does really well, and leaves a decent shine, but like Carguy says, they're not chromed so don't expect gleam. I'm a big fan of the stuff and Simplegreen in general. They have a new product ( Simple Green Wheel & Tire Cleaner ) that I'm anxious to try.

They do form an oxide layer and respond well to metal polish, and If I'm feeling really industrious I use All Metal Polish | Meguiar's . I've found this stuff to give the most shine with the least work, but do save whitewall detailing for after. Nevr-dull is good too IMHO, but I personally prefer the Meguiar's.

·
Registered
761 Posts
Give me the solid wheels on the Custom any day.Just cleaned mine,took under five minutes.That is one thing I do not miss from my Classic,spokes..Do miss the floor boards though.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Powder Coating

Well it's got to be said although the chrome is in excellent condition on the wheels and the front spokes are very good to, I'm very tempted at some stage to get the wheels/Spokes powder coated?
A much cheaper option to buying new solid wheels that's for sure! :grin2:

·