Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok let me start this by saying yes I know search... I did and read for almost 2 hours.

I have an 07 classic LT its my first bike so bear with me Im still learning all about them. Anyway my rear tire is just about bald in the center so I need to replace it, and have settled on the metzeler 880 (see I told ya I searched). my question is with regards to the proper size, should I go with 180/70, or 200/70, or 170/80 (i think I saw one post referring to that size). I dont know how the different sizes will affect my ride or performance. Any insight would be greatly appreciated as my head is spinning right now.

PS Im a bit stupid when it comes to what the different numbers mean in the sizes, My jeep has 35/12.5/15 tires 35 inches tall 12.5 inches wide with a 15 inch rim... why cant they all be that simple?

·
Registered
1,159 Posts
There are some pretty detailed threads on this. I had one bookmarked so I'll give you the link for it. Seven pages about tire size and its effect on speedo and odo readings. I have a 200 and love it. It won't feel like a completely different bike but it is more relaxed when cruising and moves the shift points up. Seems like somebody always wants to talk about how a 200 rear tire is sloppier and doesn't handle as well since it's wider than the stock 180. I think that's a topic more suited for comparing the classic and custom front tires. I haven't noticed any bad effects from having the wider tire. Anyway, I promised a link.

Results--rear tire size speed & odo effect

Edit: Sorry! I screwed up the link. It should work now.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
thanx I'll check out that thread... I think Im just concerned about how it will affect the ride being so new to riding I dont want something that will make it more difficult for me

·
BOTM Winner, December 2013
1,172 Posts
well you cant go wrong with running the stock size !!!

·