Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sorry y'all, I've searched the forum and found a number of threads regarding the radio reception, or lack of, but I think I need a better picture painted to understand the issue.

I'm sitting here shaking my head in disbelief that I'm asking a question about radio reception, given I'm an audio engineer and I can't figure out how to get better radio on my bike, LOL. Guess some things just aren't the same...

Anyway, I've seen others complain of poor or non-existent radio reception on their Vaquero's and it's related to the antenna mounting. I think I read somewhere that there's two studs for the antenna cable to mount to and if it's reversed the reception is poor, maybe not, can't recall at the moment.

I also remember reading that something was not right with the antenna mounting its self but again, I need more details.

I'm a visual person so if anyone has pics of where they fixed their poor radio reception and how, that'd be great. Otherwise, can someone talk to me like I'm 4 years old and help me "see" how to get better reception? I had it in to the dealer to fix it and they said the radio antenna and radio are hooked up correctly however, I'm getting spotty reception at best. Shoot even in town our local radio station gets fuzzy when I'm on the Vaquero but not in my other vehicles. We don't have any hi-rise buildings to trap me from the signal so it must be a raception/radio issue, I'd believe.

Anyway, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks y'all.

·
Registered
440 Posts
my vaquero gets little or no reception..maybe a booster might help ..been looking into it myself.

·
Registered
894 Posts
This is from the Tech page on a Voyager Forum, but, it may apply to the Vaq's as well . . . about halfway down there is a visual on the antenna issues witht he Voyagers . . .

http://www.amervoyassoc.org/techtips1700.php

·
Premium Member
1,111 Posts