Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought a 08 VN 2000 Classic LT not quite a month ago, and 1100 miles later, I still am trying to get used to the weight/handling of this beast. I have been riding bikes for over 40 years, and this one is without doubt the biggest and heaviest motorcycle I've ever had. My last one (still have it) is a 93 ZR-1100, which is a regular street bike, and I am quite comfortable riding it. We wanted something better suited to riding 2 up and the Vulcan truly excels at that. But I have not quite gotten accustomed to how the Vulcan handles, and there are times I really struggle with the low speed/city driving aspect of things. It seems to take a lot of muscle to turn, and it swings wider doing a low speed turn than what I am used to. I guess my question for those of you that have ridden these for a while, is do you eventually get accustomed to it and feel at home? I hope more time with it will cure this; thankfully I live in a small town and can drive it around without dealing with heavy traffic. Nothing worse than a car right on your tail when trying to navigate turns with an unfamilar bike. Any and all comments or thoughts on this will be appreciated.

·
Registered
2,967 Posts
I think sometimes I go too slow for low speed maneuvering and that makes it really feel like a lumbering beast in that situation.

IMHO, try speeding up just a tiny bit, doesn't seem to take much, and roll into that throttle just a tiny bit more as you start through the turn and you can move those bars easier and further than you'd think possible.

·
Registered
864 Posts