Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Dear Ponch,
Thanks for the info on the wires! I'm installing a Kawasaki light bar on my 2K, it has an on-off switch on the bar. The instructions tell me to tap into the low beam wire in the headlight bucket and ground to the triple tree, the result will be no running lights on high beam. Soooo, I've decided to wire direct to the battery with an in line fuse then relay as you instructed. The factory bulbs in the bar are H3 25W x 2 = 50W/12 = 4-5 amp. What size fuse should I install? Is it required that the relay max amp match the fuse? I was also thinking of jumping up to 50W H3's in the light bar about 9 amp draw. I also plan on installing an 80/100 in the headlight. Have any words of wisdom? I have zero experience in wiring relays, lights etc.

·
Registered
344 Posts
Hi Curm,

I'm not Ponch, but my .02....
For reliability, I would fuse at 50% to 100% of the current draw. For 4-5 amp, a 10 amp fuse, for 9, a 15. It is important to conservatively size the wire for the load and if you do, a short should have no trouble quickly blowing the fuse. AWG #14 should be sufficient in either case. If you can find it "marine" wire is good. It typically has many fine strands and is quite flexible and fatigue resistant. It is also "tinned" which inhibits corrosion. The insulation is also usually rated to a fairly high temperature. It may have been mentioned, but be sure to place the fuse as close to the battery as possible.

The relay should be rated to *at least* the maximum current draw, for reliability double it. Compared to AC, DC can be a problem for relays. Since AC goes to zero volts 120 times/second, any switching arc is extinguished at that point. Not so for DC and if the relay contact gap and size are too small, a switching arc can sometimes sustain itself after the contact opens. Again, if you can find one, use a relay specified for the desired current at DC.