Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello all and I hope you're doing well during this crazy pandemic situation. I've seen a lot of great engagement on these forums and am hoping someone might be able to assist with this, probably easy, passing lamp not working issue. I am not experienced with electronics or motorcycle repair/troubleshooting so a newbie on this type of troubleshooting.

I purchased my previously used 2006 Vulcan 900 from a local dealer a couple of years ago. Before I drove it off the lot I tested all of the switches, lights, horn, etc... and we noticed that the passing lamps weren't working so they offered to fix it for free if I bring it back in. So I did just that and they got it working but no mention of what the issue was. (that's on me, I should have asked)

Anyhow, it could be a simple fuse issue but if you check out the pictures below there is no fuse between the main headlamp plug and the lead going to the passing lamp switch so I guess I just debunked myself.

I checked the end of the black connector wire that comes from the main headlamp switch and goes into the passing lamp switch with my multimeter (3rd picture below) but regardless of which setting I choose there does not appear to be any power going to that. The main headlamp works fine with both standard and high beams so that's fully functional thankfully but it just doesn't appear to be sending power. Keep in mind that I did nothing to make these stop working. Just one day they weren't working even though I made no modifications or poked around anywhere, just suddenly dead.

Seems there are very few options as to what the cause would be with this very simplistic setup, I just need a nudge in the right direction. If someone could tell me where to place the positive and negative leads from the multimeter to test any of these connections I'd appreciate it and will post the results very quickly for you to see.