Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was reading through the Owner Manual (for easy reading) and noticed the following statement in the Safe Operation section...

"When quick acceleration is necessary as in passing, shift to a lower gear to obtain the necessary power."

I'm relatively new to riding but this statement stood out to me. Why would dropping down to a lower gear provide you with more passing speed compared to up shifting to a higher gear and opening the throttle?

If anyone can help me understand this that would be great. Thanks!

·
Registered
38 Posts
I was reading through the Owner Manual (for easy reading) and noticed the following statement in the Safe Operation section...

"When quick acceleration is necessary as in passing, shift to a lower gear to obtain the necessary power."

I'm relatively new to riding but this statement stood out to me. Why would dropping down to a lower gear provide you with more passing speed compared to up shifting to a higher gear and opening the throttle?

If anyone can help me understand this that would be great. Thanks!
If you're in 5th at 45 miles an hour, and need to pass someone quick, it'll take some time to get to 65, however, if you drop down to 4th, AND open the throttle, you'll get there a lot quicker. Its all about gear ratios, and ratios are lower, in lower gears.

·
Registered
941 Posts
It is the same as your car, and I am assuming according to your statement that you don't drive a stick, but you drive an automatic. But in your automatic when you want to pass someone, you mash the pedal to the floor very quickly and when you do that, the car will kick a little. And the engine will rev up. That is because it downshift one to two gears, sometimes 3 gear depending on the car and how many gears it has total.

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the replies, after reading them it does make sense. Thanks again for the feedback!

·
Registered