Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all!

I'm planning on buying my 06 Vulcan 500 next week but unfortunately there isn't going to be an MSF basic riders course near me until sometime in May. What kind of things can I practice on nice days to teach myself how to safely ride in the mean time? I have very little experience on a motorcycle but I used to ride a mountain bike as my regular mode of transportation several years ago.

I've got a full set of gear ready and waiting to be worn on a motorcycle, modular helmet, jacket, gloves, Kevlar reinforced jeans, and boots.

Any input is much appreciated.
Thanks,
~Chaos

·
Registered
182 Posts
Hi Chaos. Congrats on the 500. Great bike, with a virtually unbreakable engine. This bike has quite a long wheelbase and slow speed maneuvers take some getting used to. I would suggest practicing slow speed maneuvers on an empty parking lot or similar location. Try and set out some obstacles, if you can, and weave. Get into the habit of using both brakes together, applying the front just before the rear. Avoid using just the front brake at slow speed. Plenty of good advice here on this forum and also on the net in general.

This is quite a powerful machine for a 500. The engine is derived from the Ninja 500 sports bike. Plenty of torque, which is a good thing, as long as you are aware of your own capabilities and don't try and run before you can walk.

Hope this helps. Good luck and keep us posted.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3