Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

Just wondering if this was a normal noise or something I should be worried about. When slowing while in gear I get a whu whu whu sound ( sorry best I can explain it ) It seems to be coming from the or transmission area.

·
Registered
217 Posts
Hello everyone,

Just wondering if this was a normal noise or something I should be worried about. When slowing while in gear I get a whu whu whu sound ( sorry best I can explain it ) It seems to be coming from the or transmission area.
The gear noise you hear is normal. The traditional straight cut gears (lower set in photo) create that signature quick-change whine. Helical cut gears (top of photo) make less noise. The Vulcan uses straight cut gears. I have read for racing a straight cut gear gives much less friction and power loss and a quicker shift. Second picture is photo of Vulcan gearbox. I am not a Motorcycle mechanic so this is the best explanation I can give you.

Attachments

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you for the quick response. I am glad the noise is normal well would rather it wasnt there :D .

·
Registered
269 Posts
As someone who has just went from a Honda to a Vulcan this was great to know! Was wondering the same thing myself.

·
Registered
1,158 Posts
Two years into owning my nine....I have come to realize that Kawi made/makes the noisiest, clunkiest, whirring, popping, clicking, TICKING, scuffing, rubbing, rattling machines on the road. To say it has "character" is an understatement. I love the bike, and ergonomically speaking, it fits me like the proverbial glove, but, have no doubt....it has got to be the most "unrefined" cruiser out there.

·
Registered
1,158 Posts
As someone who has just went from a Honda to a Vulcan this was great to know! Was wondering the same thing myself.