Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I did a search on the forum but couldn't find anything.

Something has happened to my 2012 900 Classic LT, and I admit up front I am no motorcycle mechanic, so please be patient with me.

Took the bike out this morning, and I accelerate pretty strong getting on the Interstate, so the engine revved up a bit...but nothing big.

But a couple of miles down the road, I need to accelerate to get around a car, so I hit my blinker, check my mirror, start switching lanes, and hit the throttle...and didn't accelerate. The engine revved, but the power didn't transfer to the back wheel.

I spend the next two hours on a combination of backroads and interstate to try it out in every gear. Pretty much is only happening at higher speeds in 4th and 5th gears, when I twist the throttle past halfway. Engine revs and RPM's increase greatly, but there is little to no acceleration. I have to dial it back a little to a very small sweet spot to seem to get the power to transfer to the wheel.

It's like I transitioned to accelerating a large, weighed down truck compared instead to that a responsive sports car.

Or for you boaters...it's eerily similar to hitting the throttle on an outboard when you have the prop to high up...or hit a some mud/sandbar and you are just trying to bog through it.

Very disconcerting not having that responsive power when I need it like you normally get from the 900. Again, at lower speeds and through gears 1-3 I didn't experience it, but 4 and 5 I was getting no torque, no acceleration when I hit the throttle....would have to lumber through high revs just to gain a few mph. You could almost see the gas guage needle just moving to the left I was going through the fuel so badly.