Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

Newbie looking at 1600s

5K views 35 replies 17 participants last post by  hotdiggitydog 
#1 ·
I am new to riding but have wanted a bike for years. Finally enrolled in a MSR basic riders course for next weekend. Have done a lot of research and have narrowed it down to the Vulcan 1600 family. I am 6'6" 260 lbs and don't want a small bike that I will have to upgrade in a year. I have read the 1600s are a little more spacious than the 1500s or the 1700s. I have sat on a couple 1700s that were not bad but wouldn't mind the extra room. I am going to go sit on a 1600 i found nearby this week or next weekend. Within about 3 hrs of me there are a couple bikes that are 1600s. The classics and meanies have bags and sissy bars on them but I like the looks of the hard bags and the dual exhaust on the Nomads though not a huge fan of the dual color scheme. Just wondering from some people with experience what the biggest differences are between how they ride, handle, tank size/mpg, and any other comments. Because they are all older obsolete bikes the info on line varies depending on the site. I am looking to use it as a commuter during nice weather but would also like the option to do some longer trips. The wife told me no way in he'll she will ever ride with me but I want to option for two up riding down the road when she changes her mind like she always does. There are a couple V2Ks in the same range with bags and sissy bar but I feel like that might be too much bike for a newbie. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

#2 ·