Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I acquired a 1993 Vulcan 500 that has been sitting in storage for the last eight + years.
I've checked for the obvious like dry rot and corrosion. I need to clean the gas tank, and all that.
But I would like to know what are some common trouble points for these. I'm no newbie to small engines and I've spent the last five years working on and customizing various Jeeps, so the actual mechanics isn't a problem. I know that every run of any motor and vehicle has it's own quirks that are common across most of that production line.
What are some things to watch out for? something I definitely want to check regularly?
Also, best online places to get spare parts? Places to stay away from?
Thanks for any and all pointers!

·
Registered
157 Posts
I needed a new toolbox panel that goes under the left side cover. I found the best price and great service at Fallen Cycles in Daytona Beach Florida for used parts.

·
Registered
507 Posts
Most likely suspect after what you've already checked for is the carbs -- if there was gasoline sitting in them all that time, it's varnish. Perhaps that was the "all that."

While you're in there wrenching, anyway, adjust the valves.

How many miles on the bike?

·
Registered
509 Posts
Petcocks are prone to failure, leading to flooding the carbs, and if left long enough, eventually the crankcase. You can stop this by checking and rebuilding the petcock if needed, at an interval based upon use. If you're using it a lot and switching back and forth between on, and reserve, you might need to check it more often.

The carbs seems to be the source of most issues, with the battery being second, with running properly.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #7