Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Going to upgrade from my Honda 750 Shadow AERO to 900 Vulcan Classic LT, can anyone help me on some info .....looking hard at 2007 or 2008 what is the difference if any ???? does the 2008 have any newer tech or just a newer title ?????? any help will be appreciated thanks

·
Registered
67 Posts
First off, congratulations with making the switch...you won't regret the move. I ride an '09, so I am not an expert about '08, or '07, but i have read a thing a two. One thing that I have read, and have heard from a friend of mine who has an '07 900 Custom, is that there are some kinks with the electronics for that year. Specifically, his fuel gauge is constantly flucuating, and his low fuel indicator light will come on even when his gauge is full. I thought it was an isolated problem, but after doing some reading, I found it was pretty common in the '07s... That being said, the problem was worked out for '08. Just a thought to consider... I don't know how wide spread the problem is, or if Kawi even considered this an issue at all.. Hopefully you can get some input from people who ride '07 & '08.... Good Luck and Ride Safe!

·
Registered
2,182 Posts
Welcome aboard! I've got an '07 VN900 Classic, it's really hard to wrong with these bikes, 26k trouble-free miles and climbing, 50mpg, plenty of power for virtually any situation(well, except for drag racing sportbikes maybe:D) and I'm confident enough in mine that next spring it's going to assume 2-up touring duties. IMHO, the gas gauge issue is a minor irritation at best, I rarely ride over 100 miles without stopping, especially if my wife is riding with, and 99% of my miles are solo anyway, so when the "pack" stops is not a concern for me.

Either way, '07 or '08, you can't go wrong.

·
Registered
451 Posts