Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought a used 2012 Kawi Vulcan 900 Classic SE last month, had about 5500 miles and in great condition. The original owner installed cobra straight pipes, a Cobra Fi2000R, and a Barons BAK. Idle seemed very low but stable. When I first started riding it, no backfiring. After doing some upgrades/mods (see list below), lots of backfiring/popping on deceleration. Since it did not backfire before my mods, and I have no touched the exhaust, I don't think its an exhaust leak. I did remove the BAK so I could paint the plate, but I am 99.9% sure I reinstalled it correctly. When my wife rides on the back (she is about 100lbs), it backfires much worse. Sounds like a retarded machine gun in my neighborhood. Going down hills is much worse. I need some ideas on what I can check to get it to stop backfiring. Since I am new to this bike I need newbie instructions, with pictures and stuff (would help a lot).

So far, I put about 3/4 bottle of seafoam in the gas tank (its still mostly full), and I increased the idle rpms (no tach so I guesstimated 1000rpms).

Barons SS line kit
Kuryakyn Dual USB port
Chrome Brake & clutch controls
LED headlight bulb (modified for correct beam pattern)
LED Taillight & license Plate bulb
LED turn signals (switchbacks)
Instrument Panel LEDs
LED diode kit
Electronic flasher relay
Rest of the mods are cosmetic only

·
Registered
761 Posts
Seafoam should be added at the rate of 1 ounce per gallon.If you added 3/4 of a 16 ounce can of Seafoam to your gas tank you have way too much in there.Sorry I can't be more help on the backfiring issue.

·
Living The Dream
1,512 Posts
Besides the seafoam deal, I think you probably need to tune your fuel processor. I went with the Cobra autotune processor to avoid this issue. Also recommend running 87 octane grade fuel. Maybe drain the fuel from tank and start with fresh tank?

·
Premium Member
88 Posts