Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i have a la choppers big air kit and a cobra fi2000r already fitted and like the look of my black stock pipes on my custom se my question is weather or not to debaffle or do i need to get new pipes. i want a little more noise and also think i may need to debaffle inn-order to open the pipes up to get the benefit of the new air kit would this help ? are they restricting the air flow now ? i know i would get more noise if i debaffle but would it also improve performance ? i have never done anything like this before but have read the threads and am willing to give it a go but don't want to waste my time if i am not going to get the results i am looking for as i said i do like the stock pipes so would rather keep them if i can any advice would be great

·
Premium Member
1,335 Posts
I have fully debaffled pipes (love the tone & noise level, don't think it's too load), ArlenNess Big Air Sucker, Cobra PowrPro, and removed the secondary butterflies. I did these in stages starting with 1) debaffled pipes, 2) Air Kit & Fuel Mgmt, 3) Butterflies. Noticed the performance improvement once I added the air kit & fuel mgmt. The butterflies improved throttle response.

Doing the debaffle I believe you'll see the performance your air kit & fuel mgmt will deliver.

·
Premium Member
1,335 Posts
the butterflies he might be referring to are the secondary butterflies located right behind the air filter. it allows for a quicker throttle response. or so ive been told
Correct. They are easy to remove (two screws). I noticed the difference in throttle response immediately.

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #6