Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Gentlemen, I'm a newbie to the forum and this is my first post. I have a 2005 1600 Classic, and just finished replacing the main wiring harness, due to a melted ground connector in the battery box. Any ideas as to what might have caused the meltdown? I've had the bike since June 2006, and it now has 65,400 miles on it.

·
Lifetime Premium Bike Of The Fall Winner 2017
2,858 Posts
Sounds like a wire was grounding out somewhere. Make sure your fuses are the proper size, if you put a fuse in to big you'll create heat in the wire. Or maybe a pinched wire somewhere.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yes. It's wrapped in electrical tape and hangs down from the harness next to the front side of the battery.

·
Registered
11,756 Posts
There is a jumper plug in that connector that can develop corrosion and melt the connector. You would not have had to replace the entire harness to repair that problem.

·
Registered
75 Posts
There is a jumper plug in that connector that can develop corrosion and melt the connector. You would not have had to replace the entire harness to repair that problem.