Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the forums, so if this has been covered, my apoligies. i have been told since i started riding that motorcycle tires have to match--brand and series-in order to ride correctly. but seeing as how my STOCK rear tire is close to $200, a couple of shops in the area are trying to convince me to switch from dunlop to bridgestone, saying "they are all bias ply tires, there is no difference between brands" opinions???

·
Registered
525 Posts
It is the same with cars. In a perfect world they should match. But in the imperfect world we live in, this doesn't always happen. In the case of cars, it is good enough to replace them in pairs, but in bikes, well... I keep hearing of a lot of people changing the rear and not the front, so I would venture the guess that past OEM tires, very few actually match. I still have my OEMs on...

Oh, opinion : I would get the best rear you can, even if it doesn't match.

And no, they are NOT all bias, there are some radials out there. Maybe the ones you were looking at are all bias. It probably would be good to stay the same (bias-bias vs radial/bias mix).

·
Registered
7 Posts
Candyman stay away from bridgestone tires i have a 2007 vulcan 2000 classic lt put less then 6000 miles on the rear tire there junk. go with dunlop its a better tire got a 251 on rear now an its steel belted also put 3000 miles on it cant even tell it still got the oem on front. but i have alway ran dunlop on my other bike an got better service out of them. hope this helps

·
Registered
5 Posts
on tire pressure? which does anyone recomend what is in the manual or on the tire. i put what the tire recomends and it seems the rear tire is wearing pretty thin after only 8400 miles. my wife does ride a lot with me though also. 2007 900 classic lt

·
Registered
525 Posts