Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. I am checking out a 1999 VN 750 at a dealership. 14K, for $2500. Is there anything that I need to look for before I get it? Like certain mechanical problems? I am a TOYOTA Master tech, so I am able to spot trouble spots easily. AND, ANY advice on buying/not buying the bike would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!! Larry

·
Registered
14 Posts
run away

Hey guys. I am checking out a 1999 VN 750 at a dealership. 14K, for $2500. Is there anything that I need to look for before I get it? Like certain mechanical problems? I am a TOYOTA Master tech, so I am able to spot trouble spots easily. AND, ANY advice on buying/not buying the bike would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!! Larry
Run away. Being a mechanic will frustrate the living snot out of you when you try to do anything. Removing the carbs is a four hour, two man job and replacing them is 6 - the staked connection between the valve slide and the diaphragm can fracture and fail without warning. Getting to the float needle is difficult, getting to clean the valve is next to impossible. The ACCT is a POS, the spring is so weak that is useless - and it stress fractures and fails at the bent tang. The alternate MCCT is questionably designed. This bike is NOT mechanic friendly.

·
Registered
72 Posts
The price sounds a bit high, but it is the beginning of riding season, and I don`t know what prices are like where ever you live.

Take a 10 mm socket and extension to take the seat off. Bolts holding seatback are inside toolbox.
Check the battery box and frame under it for any corrosion or acid spills from an old style wet cell battery.

Bonus points if there is a recently installed MF-AGM battery.

Check charging system from idle to 5K RPM.
Voltage should climb to about 14.5-15 V