Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
(Newbie here... sorry if this has already been covered but I couldn't find this info when I searched)

I'm about to install a Kawa light bar in my 2011 Nomad. I'd like to mostly run it all the time (lo-beam and hi-beam), but have the option of turning it off. I'd also like the power to cut out while I engage the starter. (This will be wired with a relay and a handlebar switch.)

My question is, which wire in the headlight bucket (if any) is both ignition-switched and cuts out while the starter is engaged? I was thinking that the turn-sig's running light wire might work ... Not sure what color wire it is. Any body know?

BTW - I'm a novice doing electrical work so please let me know what you think of this approach to wiring. Any thoughts and advice will be most welcome!
Thanks,
-Jack

·
Registered
1,231 Posts
If you have the Kawasaki oem bar there is an on off switch on the bar behind the left blinker on the bar which can be reached while sitting on the bike so an extra on off switch is unnecessary. In the headlight bucket the yellow wire with the double female bullet connector is switched. If you want to run the driving lights all the time it is the one to use. You will need to get a male single bullet connector for the hot wire on the light bar.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
TS, Thanks for that info - very helpful. Yes I have the OEM light bar (it just arrived today, as a matter of fact).

Do you happen to know whether that yellow wire will momentarily cut power when the starter is activated? Someone told me that was an important feature for a light bar that's left on all the time ... I guess so the starter gets all the juice it needs. Is that really necessary, ya think?

-Jack

·
Registered
1,231 Posts