Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Vulcan 500 Leaks & other issues

Hello everyone, I have a 2003 Vulcan 500. She's been running fine, but I took her to the shop for an inspection today and here are the issues:

- Left fork seal weeping, needs seal replaced
- Oil and coolant residue under water pump, possible water pump leak
- Sprocket is showing signs of wear
- Front tire has low tread depth, should be replaced soon
- Front brake pads at 1mm

I am new to motorcycles, but I am wondering if any of these issues are fixable by myself. I am not super mechanically knowledgable, nor do I have a jack, but the shop quoted me $1200 for the fork seals, sprocket, and possible fix of the oil leak, so I'd really rather try to fix things myself...

Please let me know what you think is doable! And also if you know of any good jacks for the vulcan 500, I would love to hear about it.

Thanks in advance :)

·
Registered
249 Posts
First, welcome aboard!

Working on your own bike is a great way to get to know the bike better, and these bikes are actually very easy to work on. I'll go over your list and give you a few pointers...

Tools: You'll need the basic mechanic's hand tools (ratchet & sockets, screwdrivers, etc) in metric (mm). You will also need a torque wrench. A good basic one is here:
https://www.harborfreight.com/38-in-drive-click-type-torque-wrench-63880.html

You will want a motorcycle jack. At the shop I part-time at, we have all the fancy air lifts and goodies, but for my home use, I use a basic motorcycle jack from Harbor Freight Tools. At around $100, it's a great investment that will end up saving you a lot of money in the end.
https://www.harborfreight.com/1500-lbs-capacity-atvmotorcycle-lift-60536.html