Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My bike had been seating for almost a week and today I found around 7 drops of coolant under my bike, I guess under the coolant container. I am new to bikes. What areas should I inspect and check if they are tight enough? Thanks for your help.

·
Registered
1,156 Posts
just a thought but here's a guess, when rad fluid got hot and expanded into #8 there in the pic the rad reservoir tank, maybe the tank got too full and overflowed a bit of rad fluid when you were done your ride last week

·
Registered
11,748 Posts
Coolant has a bad habit of leaking here, running around here and there and finally dropping on the floor a good distance from the original leak.

A quote from the Kawasaki assembly manual:

1. All hose clamps to leave factory finger tight.
2. All oil filters to leave factory gut-busting tight.

·
Premium Member
994 Posts
Leak

Coolant has a bad habit of leaking here, running around here and there and finally dropping on the floor a good distance from the original leak.

A quote from the Kawasaki assembly manual:

1. All hose clamps to leave factory finger tight.
2. All oil filters to leave factory gut-busting tight.

Man, talk about under and over kill........

·
Registered
1,156 Posts
does the 900 rad fluid reservoir tank have a see-thru plastic side tube on it? maybe check to see what level the rad fluid is at inside that tank

·
Registered
673 Posts
The over flow tank is a clear(cloudy) plastic. It can be viewed from the left side of the bike from the rear, about 10-12" off the ground. That or take the left side cover off along with the chrome plated plastic piece under that to see the tank and hose. A bit of a PITA.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Yes, it does. The container is see-thru plastic and level is almost at upper line. Thank you

·
Registered
1,156 Posts