Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm relatively new to riding. I've been a road cyclist for much of my life, and although the balance is similar, turning is not. In my safety course, the instructor kept talking about pushing in the opposite direction of a turn. This completely boggled my brain and I just couldn't get my head around the concept...especially at lower speeds. Now that I'm riding daily, despite the cold, I'm sort of understanding the concept. It seems with an ever-so-slight push in the opposite direction, my turns are getting sharper and I'm able to throttle into it a bit better. Still having trouble understanding the full concept/physics of the method.

I was hoping someone could give me some advice to boost my confidence when I'm going into turns. Let's just say, I plan my routes in my head currently, to avoid sharp turns, both with/without speed.

·
Registered
2020 Kawasaki Vulcan S 650 Cafe ABS
466 Posts
It call counter steering. Depending on what bike you are driving it's usually more effective at higher speeds. You will get used to it and will become second nature and won't even think about anymore.

·
Registered
2,853 Posts
Really, the only way you'll gain confidence is by doing it. The concept you describe, counter steer, is the same on all two wheeled vehicles. If you're a cyclist and haven't run into a building, you know how to counter steer, you just haven't had to think about it. The gyroscopic effect that creates counter steer is more evident the faster the bike is moving (because the wheels are turning faster). It's also more noticeable on the motorcycle because the gyroscopes (wheels) are more massive than on your bicycle.