Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Greetings,

I'm new to my 2010 V900 Classic LT, I've had it for roughly 3 weeks.

When I first got the bike, when I turned on the key, the bike made a sound. Then when I turned the kill switch to run position, I would hear another sound. This has been described by another forum member as:

Keyclick
...First sound: Brrrrrrzzzziiiiicccchip
Kill Switch to On/Run
...Second sound: Whirrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

Once I started the bike, if it was cold, it would run at a very high idle until it warmed up, then once warmed up the rpm's would drop down to a smooth and quiet level after a couple minutes. Note: I have Cobra pipes, so that high idle is very loud.

In the last few days I've noticed when I turned the kill switch to run, there was no longer a second sound, it's just silent. Then, when I start the bike, it starts at a low idle, and kinda struggles (as in its a little starved for fuel). Then over the next minute or so the idle slowly starts to increase in RPM's (but not to the previous high idle level), until it warms up, then lowers down to a quiet idle.

On one of my recent cold starts, the bike would turn over but not stay running, until I compensated with varying throttle over about 5 seconds (then it was fine, albeit low rpm).

My question is, what was that second sound when I was moving the kill switch to On/Run, and why is that no longer happening? Is this related to the high idle no longer occurring?

I've ridden the bike daily since this started for about 3 days. It seems to run fine, the only difference is startup. No sound on run switch, and no very high idle when cold. Note: The kill switch does turn off the bike ok, that's how I stop the bike.

If it helps, I have about 3500 miles on the bike, it has Cobra pipes + Cobra Powrflo air intake. Any ideas are very appreciated.

Thank you!

·
Registered
171 Posts