Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi: I was adding LED rear lights and must have grounded a live wire. The power just stopped as I was at the rear of the bike. Now when I turn the key nothing! I checked the fuses in the box, the main 30 amp fuse, the 15 amp fuse and nothing. Is there a fusible link anywhere on these bikes? I am just an amateur and don't know where to go from here so any help would be appreciated! The battery seems fine at 12.5 v and is kept on a tender.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Solved it! There was a problem with the negative ground. Now good ground and all is well! Thanks!

·
Premium Member
671 Posts
Solved it! There was a problem with the negative ground. Now good ground and all is well! Thanks!
Awesome! Electrical problems are a nightmare for me. I had a condition that went on randomly for a few years- just out of the blue, my bike would die like someone shut it off. And then it wouldn't start. One guy at a shop told me it was my driving lights, they rewired them and charged me 75 bucks. Two weeks later it did it again. So I went to a Kaw dealer. A young mechanic assured me it was the kill switch. So I replaced the entire unit (you can't just buy the switch, you have to buy the whole unit for about 178 bucks). Installed it, turned the key on, and.....pop! fuse blows.