Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was told that I couldn't replace my oem filter with a K&N filter unless i buy an air kit.
I was also told from the dealer that I would have to install a power commander. Can anyone shed some light on the matter??
I already purchased the filter and it didn't say anything about adding things.
Any information would be helpful.
Thanks.

·
Premium Member
474 Posts
If you don't change the muffler/exhaust, you don't have to add a power commander. I've been running the K&N in my 900 for about 12000 mile, with a stage one baffle removal on the standard pipes, and not had any issues....

·
Banned
1,493 Posts
Changing to aftermarket exhaust pipes is going to cause free flowing exhaust and scavenge fuel out the cylinder, causing a leaner condition in the cylinders and will need more fuel mixture on the next intake to compensate, the stock pipes have a lot of back-pressure to them and create a richer and hotter condition in the cylinders thus the next intake can use less fuel, the power commander is needed to add more fuel when going aftermarket pipes, by putting on a free flowing K&N air filter only is not going to matter in my opinion as long as you keep the stock airbox and stock pipes.

·
Registered
953 Posts
I was told that I couldn't replace my oem filter with a K&N filter unless i buy an air kit.
I was also told from the dealer that I would have to install a power commander. Can anyone shed some light on the matter??
I already purchased the filter and it didn't say anything about adding things.
Any information would be helpful.
Thanks.
No need to buy a fuel processor from changing to a K&N, and no you do not need to buy an air kit to do so. The guy is just trying to get you to spend more money. :cool:

·
Premium Member
1,335 Posts