Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Goodmorning!

So I just recently bought a 1997 Kawasaki Vulcan 500! I’m new to motorcycles. It needs love and I’m trying to wrap my head around some of the maintenance/repairs that need to be done. When I bought it, it fired up, but the person I bought it from said that he could barely get it to stay running. I did notice gas leaking from the petcock area, like a lot. The bike sat for a while and it wasn’t set up properly for long term storage.i did look in the gas tank and it appears to have a rust spot near the bottom of the tank, which confirms the flakes I saw in the fuel filter that he added onto the bike. That being said, I took the carburetor out and noticed one of the needles was bent, and the jet on that side was clogged. Ordered a rebuild kit; but don’t know really anything about carburetors. My question is, what kind of things should I look at to get this thing up and running? Also, I opened the oil cap and didn’t see much oil, I stuck my finger in there and it has a smell of gas. Bought 10w40 and a k&n oil filter, so I figured I would change out the oil. Any help would be appreciated!

·
Registered
249 Posts
Welcome aboard!

First question: You said the bike sat for "a while". Do you know how long? Months? Years?

Rust in the tank isn't good... but they can be sealed. I recommend the POR 15 kit. It's not the cheapest, but it works great. With the fuel leak you mentioned, do make sure it's coming form the petcock or petcock gasket before trying to seal your tank. There's a small chance you have a rust hole. Water will settle to the lowest portion of the tank (below the gas), so the bottom of the tank is the first area rust will develop. Rust holes aren't common, but do occur. Best to do a visual inspection to make sure.