Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My friend is offering to sell me his 2006 Kawasaki vulcan 500 for 900$ It needs a new battery and oil change and has 24k miles on it. the bike has been dropped a couple times but only damage is a broken mirror. I have ridden it several times and love it. Also I am new to the vulcan and was wondering if it has any quirks. I currently own a honda reflex and the alternator went bad.

·
Registered
157 Posts
Just doing a quick search that seems pretty good. Both Nada and KBB put it between $1600-2000. But that is for excellent condition, you would have to decide what shape it's in.

There are also quite a few on cycletrader, mostly 2009 models with less miles, but they are asking $2000-3000 for those.

·
Registered
507 Posts
According to NADA, that's a pretty fair deal. You're not stealing it, but your friend isn't stealing your money, either. Given the condition you describe, it's maybe a US $900 to $1300 bike, depending on where you are in the world. I'd guess you'll have like one, maybe two hundred bucks in expenses to get it roadworthy. Motorcycle oil is a bit more expensive than car oil, and you definitely want motorcycle oil for that bike, since the clutch swims in oil, plus you'll want a filter and a filter wrench and, well, you know how money leaks out of your wallet in an auto parts place.

Nothing but the mirror got messed up in the drops? That's pretty lucky.

How well does it start when it's cold? See much black, blue or white smoke out the tailpipe when it fires up? Each of those is a potential problem, especially that blue stuff. That means it is burning oil. (Calmly but briskly walk away.)

You might quiz your friend on just how faithful he/she has been with those oil changes. Whenever someone tells me, "It's in great shape, just needs an oil change", I always find myself wondering, "Hmmmm ... I wonder how often they've been late with their oil changes?"