Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, gonna be a long post, but I need some serious guidance here.

2006 Kawasaki Nomad 1600. I put Vance and Hines Big Shots on it and after roughly 500 miles I suddenly got an FI code. Ended up being code #15, atmospheric pressure sensor was bad. Now, I found the sensors, I have the maintenance manual luckily, but I asked this question in a group on FB and I'm getting mixed answers.

I was told I did not need a power/fuel commander since I only did an exhaust swap and that I could simply put a bypass on said sensor and be ok. But others said I needed a new sensor and a power commander too. So, what's the truth? Can I simply use a power commander and that will clear the code? Do I need to simply replace the sensor? Do i need a new sensor and a power commamder? I'm not a mechanical novice, but I haven't worked on bikes much so this sort of thing is still very new to me. Any help would be greatly appreciated! And please ask me for any other needed info and I'll try to provide it. Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
11,756 Posts
1. How many miles on the bike?
2. How long have you owned?
3. Exhaust change will not set error code 15.
4. Adding a PC will not clear the code.
5. Did you check the air sensor electrical connection?
6. Do you have a meter and know how to use it?
7. Disconnecting sensor will set a code 15.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
1. How many miles on the bike?- 6500 miles currently

2. How long have you owned?- I've owned the bike for 3 years.

3. Exhaust change will not set error code 15.- I didn't think so, but had to ask because some folks were saying it could.

4. Adding a PC will not clear the code.- Good to know

5. Did you check the air sensor electrical connection?- I did, all clean no cracks or breaks in the wiring that I could find.