Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Wow- where to start...
I had been riding a '99 1100 Shadow Aero, for the past 7 years. After my last multi-state ride with friends (most of whom riding Harleys) I decided to upgrade to something with a little more muscle. I rode a street glide, a soft tail heritage classic, a VTX, a C90, and C109R. While I liked some of them, none of them really impressed me with fit, or polish, or ride.

I prowled this, and other Kawasaki forum sites for a couple of months before deciding to get a V2K, but couldn't find one at a local dealership to test ride. I had my reservations (read: misgivings) about it with all the talk of:
- being too heavy
- being hard to handle in traffic
- poor handling in parking lots
- massive torque / tractor-like
- not a bike for the feint of heart
- blah, blah...
So- as crazy as it sounds, I found an '07 LT out of state, and bought it without ever having ridden it, (or any other rogue variant).

I put my first 100 miles on her last Sunday, and another 60 miles Tuesday. I now have a couple hundred miles with her, and I gotta tell you: I am totally excited about having/riding this massive, superbly handling beast, I can hardly stand it!

After my second ride, I got off the bike, and walked around it- a big grin on my face. The V2K is so much more fun to ride, and no harder to handle than my Aero (@ -100lb), I had to wonder if this really was the bike I'd been reading about on the forums. I have to work my Honda back and forth a few times in front of my 2 car garage in order to get it turned around; however, I can maneuver "the beast" much more easily in the same space.

I am VERY pleased with this solid, great looking bike, and know I made the right choice in buying it. With only a few modifications from here, it will have a place in my garage, and under my butt for years to come. And at 6'2" / 195 lbs, this bike fits me nicely, with plenty of leg room.