Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So Ive had my bike for 2 weeks now and I love it HOWEVER, I took it in on trade as a spur of the moment thing. My question is Is it the classic LT??? I traded my 82 sportster for it. It has 5000 miles on it. Pretty sure it was stolen sometime prior to me owning it. The key switch has been braised back on and the title stated previously owned by Police dept. No big deal to me as this was all in the past and has been taken care of but I am new to the cruiser world and honestly until I traded for it never really paid enough attention as to whats what. It will need a paint job , but we have a booth in our shop at work and I can take care of that. No real issues and so far Im very pleased with it.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Tough to say. The studs on the saddle and backrest and the fact that there is a backrest suggest LT, but I'm thinking LT's usually have a 2 tone paint job. You could easily put an LT seat and backrest on a Classic, which depending on year tended to be 1 color only.

·
Registered
357 Posts
looks like someone added a studded seat/backrest from Kawi to a Classic

as a previous poster said, for an LT it's missing the bags, shield, and light bar

but ya VIN would tell the correct story.

·
Registered
1,068 Posts
Check the info placard on the downtube. If the model number is listed as a VN900D with a numeral and letter following the "D" to indicate model year, it's a Classic LT. If it show's VN900Bxx, it's a Classic.

·
Registered
7,620 Posts
LT's always have a two-tone paint job. That's part of the package. It may have LT parts, but if it doesn't have a two-tone paint job, it's not an LT. Someone correct me if I'm wrong but, I've never seen an LT without a two-tone paint job.

However that color does look a little 'off', not like a blue I've seen Kawi use. Maybe it's been repainted?

·
Premium Member
96 Posts